Nintendo Set To Announce Financials

As we reported last month, Nintendo is set to announce the results of its 2015 Fiscal Year, which ended on March 31, 2016. As part of this briefing, it will address its forecasts for the upcoming fiscal year (April 1, 2016 through March 31, 2017). This means we could get some information about Nintendo’s next smart device games or, if we’re lucky, some new information on its upcoming platform, codenamed NX.

This earnings conference takes place starting at 4 p.m. Japan time, or 12 a.m. PT / 2 a.m. CT / 3 a.m. ET. While I don’t anticipate learning much concerning the NX, the possibility does exist and so I’ll be staying up late into the morning pouring over the financial statements and watching for news. The pessimist in me believes that the most we’ll hear about NX is that it will be shown at E3. However, if Nintendo has an earlier reveal planned, it’s quite possible the date for that event might be revealed. As always with anything Nintendo it can be difficult to predict what will happen.

Hopefully we’ll get some concrete news of some sort, of which at least one analyst believes may be the case. Dr. Serkan Toto who has covered Nintendo of Japan in the past went to Twitter today and mentioned that Nintendo’s conference will take place at the Osaka Press Club. He was told that in contrast to the last event where there were vague statements presented, Nintendo will actually announce news on future products and pipeline. It was suggested to him that at least news of Nintendo’s plans for mobile will be presented in more detail, but no word on how much, if any, information will be provided on NX. When a user on Twitter asked if he should stay up for this, Dr. Toto replied, “You will want to ;)”. No idea if he knows more than he’s sharing, but no matter what, I’m strapped in for this ride. Keep checking back to the site for more information as it develops.

 

Serkan

%d bloggers like this: