Fan-Made Print Switch Ad Calls Back First NES Ad

Readers of our Warp Zone section will recognize the ad below. A modified version was featured in a pamphlet at the January 1985 CES show and was designed to garner interest from retailers to carry the Nintendo AVS. Lackluster interest led Nintendo to rethink its strategy, redesign its hardware, and throw in a robot and a zapper to try and appeal to a different demographic. It was a success and the rest is history.

 

Credit: Frank Cifaldi

 

Now, a fan has taken the original ad for the Nintendo AVS (later the NES) and revamped it to get people pumped for this week’s Nintendo Switch announcement. It works really well!

 

 

As a reminder, the Nintendo Switch presentation will take place on Thursday evening at 8 p.m. PT / 10 p.m. CT / 11 p.m. ET. It will be live from Tokyo and in Japanese, although we expect there to be English voiceovers. Switch pricing, launch games, and release date should be announced. You can watch it live right here!

 

Craig Majaski

Craig has been covering the video game industry since 1995. His work has been published across a wide spectrum of media sites. He's currently the Editor-In-Chief of Nintendo Times and contributes to Gaming Age.

Join The Conversation!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: